Island hopping

Island hopping

The Canary archipelago is made up of seven principle islands; Lanzarote, Tenerife, Gran Canaria, Fuerteventura, El Hierro, La Gomera and La Palma. These islands are well-connected by Flights, Ferries. Since the Canaries are less than 500km across, it is possible to take day-trips to see the other islands. However, due to travel subsidies, flights and ferry crossings are often expensive for non-residents.

Small Islands
The small islands of La Graciosa and Isla de Lobos are also accessible. A ferry leaves from Orzola in the north of the Island for La Graciosa. Sseveral excursions provide day-trips to Isla de Lobos a small island to the north of Fuerteventura.

Fuerteventura is easily accessible by Ferry and the journey can take as little as twenty minutes. Fred Olsen, Naviera Armas and Lineas Romero all operate ferries on the Playa Blanca – Corralejo (Fuerteventura) route. The Lineas Romero ferries are for foot passengers only, but offer competitive rates.

Gran Canaria
Naviera Armas operate a ferry between Arreife and Las Palmas, though many make the shorter crossing to Fuerteventura, drive the length of Fuerteventura and use the high-speed ferry crossing from Morro Jable to Las Palmas. Trasmediterranea offer less frequent connections with Tenerife, La Palma, Gran Canaria and Cadiz in mainland Spain.

Binter operate flights several times daily direct flights to Santa Cruz in Tenerife, Tenerife South and to Gran Canaria, from where it is possible to get to all of the other Islands.